The Legal Partners

You Can Trust

The penalties increase with each DUI

On Behalf of | Feb 6, 2024 | DUI |

If you have ever received a DUI, you likely remember all the emotions that came with it, like fear, anxiety and guilt. And those feelings stay with you long after the fines have been paid.

Even so, some people will go on to receive another DUI. However, being aware of the consequences of subsequent convictions may make others think twice.

The first offense and beyond

In Kentucky, even a first-time DUI offense can result in significant penalties, including:

  • $200 to $500 fine
  • 2 to 30 days in jail
  • Mandatory participation in a 90-day substance abuse program
  • License suspension of 30–120 days
  • 48 hours to 30 days of community service

The penalties for a second DUI offense within ten years of the first are even more severe. A second-time offender could face:

  • Jail term ranging from seven days to six months
  • Fines between $350 and $500
  • Participation in a one-year treatment program
  • Community service between 7 days and six months
  • 12 to 18-month license suspension

For a third DUI offense within a 10-year period in Kentucky, the penalties include a $500-$1,000 fine:

  • One to 12 months in jail
  • Loss of license for two to three years
  • One year in a substance abuse treatment program 

After the third DUI offense, any subsequent DUIs will be considered a Class D felony with the following penalties:

  • A minimum of 120 days in prison
  • Five-year license suspension
  • One year in a substance abuse treatment program

Certain aggravating factors, such as having a minor in the vehicle or causing an accident, will result in imprisonment.

The penalties for DUI offenses in Kentucky are designed to be deterrents, and the best way to avoid them is to plan ahead and have a ride home. However, if you are facing a DUI charge, working with someone who can help you navigate the complexities of Kentucky’s judicial process is crucial.