Under Kentucky law, driving under influence (DUI) is a serious criminal offense with far-reaching consequences. Depending on the severity of the offense (first-timer or repeat offender), DUI penalties can range from fines and suspension of your driver’s license to jail time. But how does the court arrive at a DUI sentencing?
Like with any criminal matter, every DUI charge is unique. To have an idea of the price you are likely to pay for a DUI conviction, it helps to start by understanding Kentucky DUI laws.
Standard DUI in Kentucky
If you are a first-time DUI offender, the court may fine you between $200 and $500. Additionally, you may spend from 48 hours to 30 days in prison. However, if you have one prior DUI conviction within ten years, then the fine may range from $350 to $500. In addition, you may spend between seven days and six months in prison. A third DUI conviction in a decade can result in $500 to $1,000 in fines as well as between 30 days and one year in prison. In each instance, your driver’s license will be suspended for between 90 days and one year.
Aggravated DUI in Kentucky
Sometimes, the court will double the minimum jail sentence if you declined the blood alcohol test, were speeding, had a minor passenger or had a BAC of 0.15% or higher at the time of the stop. Your penalties will also be greater if your drunk driving leads to an accident that injured another person.
A conviction for drunk driving can impact your life in a number of ways. However, knowing your legal options can help you safeguard your rights and defend yourself more effectively.