A driver may be heading to their destination when they are stopped. When the officer explains why they were stopped, the driver may realize they are in serious trouble. The state of Kentucky treats DWI or DUI seriously, which means the driver may now be facing some criminal penalties.
Each traffic stop made under the suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) may result in penalties if the driver is found to be intoxicated. Certain circumstances may lead to stiffer criminal charges. Charges may be more severe for these situations:
- Multiple offenses
- Test refusal
- Aggravating circumstances
If a driver is stopped more than once within 10 years, potential penalties may be even more harsh. If a driver refuses to be tested, they may see their driver’s license suspended even if they are not convicted of DWI. A conviction may lead to a stiffer sentence. Aggravating circumstances may include excessive speeding or causing an accident resulting in injuries. If a driver has a child younger than 12 in the vehicle when they are stopped, they may face severe penalties.
What leads to an aggravated DUI charge?
Should a driver be charged with aggravated DWI circumstances, this means they have been accused of an action which may result in stronger penalties. Some of these circumstances include driving too fast, causing an accident resulting in either serious injury or death, or driving in the wrong direction.
The driver may have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 percent or higher. Refusing to submit to field testing may also result in an aggravated DWI charge.
What may cause a DUI/DWI charge
Kentucky law makes it illegal to drive after taking a controlled substance or while they are under the influence of alcohol. Driving after taking a sleep-inducing medication is also against Kentucky law. Combining alcohol and another substance also falls under the state’s DUI laws.