The Legal Partners

You Can Trust

Will I lose my license as a result of a DUI/DWI?

| Jun 29, 2021 | DUI |

People make mistakes. Whether you were drinking and ended up accused of driving while impaired or you were falsely accused by an officer during a traffic stop, it is important to understand that you have rights. You deserve an opportunity to defend yourself against penalties and to avoid unfair punishments that could impact your life.

One of the things that you should know is that losing your license is possible after a DUI. However, that loss is usually temporary, and you may be able to get a temporary, restricted license to get to work or school in some cases.

Kentucky’s DUI penalties

Kentucky’s DUI penalties are straightforward. They include the following.

First offense

For a first offense DUI, you can expect to lose your license for up to six months. There is also a requirement to complete an alcohol or substance abuse program for 90 days.

Second offense

With a second offense, you will lose your license for up to 18 months and have to attend a year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment.

Third offense

Third offenses include another year of substance abuse treatment and a license suspension of 36 months.

Fourth offense

A fourth offense comes with a 60-month license suspension. You will also be asked to complete up to a year of a treatment program.

The good news is that you have an opportunity to defend against these penalties. The state also offers an ignition interlock program that may help you get your license back sooner. With an ignition interlock device, you’ll be able to drive a vehicle that has this device installed. However, qualifying requires that you have not had any violations within the last 90 to 120 days (depending on the offense).

With the IIP program, you could reduce your overall license suspension times, so this is something to look into if your conviction is likely. Otherwise, there are options for defending against the charges and having the penalties reduced or eliminated. All aspects of your case have to be considered before a conviction should be allowed. The right defensive technique could help you keep your license and reduce any penalties you face.