The Legal Partners

You Can Trust

What are Kentucky’s DUI penalties? Do they increase with subsequent offenses?

| Apr 29, 2021 | DUI |

If you drive while under the influence in Kentucky, you can be pulled over and may be charged. Kentucky’s penalty system is straightforward. As of July 1, 2020, the suspension time people face for driving while impaired is now set based on the kind of conviction they receive.

Below are the different penalties for DUI offenses and what you can expect if you are charged. Penalties do increase with each subsequent offense, which is something to be aware of.

First offense within 10 years

For the first offense within 10 years, you can expect a six-month license suspension and will be required to complete a 90-day alcohol or substance abuse program.

Second offense within 10 years

A second offense requires a one-year alcohol or substance abuse treatment program to be completed, and you will lose your license for 18 months.

Third offense within 10 years

On a third offense within a decade, you’ll lose your license for 36 months and still need to complete one year of substance abuse treatment.

Fourth offense within 10 years

For a fourth offense within 10 years, you’ll need to complete a year-long alcohol or substance abuse treatment program. You’ll lose your license for 60 months.

Is there an ignition interlock device program in Kentucky?

Yes, there is. If you enroll in this program, then the suspension period reduces. To qualify, participants need to be free of violations for 90 to 120 days, depending on the level of the offense.

Your suspension may be significantly reduced. For example, on a first-offense DUI, drivers normally lose their license for six months. This may be reduced to four months through the Kentucky Ignition Interlock Program (KIIP).

These penalties are just the beginning for DUI defendants

These are just some of the penalties that you could face for a DUI charge if you’re convicted in Kentucky. There is also a risk of high fines and imprisonment in some cases, depending on the charges. It’s worth talking to your attorney about the situation to learn more about what you can do to defend yourself and protect your right to drive.